Why doesn't deleting files free space on my account?

Top / Support / General / Why doesn't deleting files free space on my account?

Because of TeraCLOUD's snapshot features, space in an account is not immediately freed when files are erased

TeraCLOUD collects snapshots of your account data on a regular basis and keeps a rolling collection of the most recent snapshots:

Snapshot FrequencySnapshots Kept
Every 3 HoursLast 7 snapshots (one day's worth)
DailyLast 14 snapshots (two weeks' worth)

 

When a snapshot is taken, files in your TeraCLOUD account remain in the snapshot even if they are deleted, and they can be recovered from the snapshot if accidentally destroyed.As long as snapshots containing these files exist, deleting them will not free up any space in your account.

There are two ways to clear up space eaten up by snapshot files:

 

1.Wait for the snapshot to be deleted automatically

 

If a deleted file is contained in a daily snapshot, the space it takes up can remain for up to two weeks after deletion.As old snapshots expire, the most recent snapshot holding the file will be automatically erased, releasing the space.

When remaining space is limited, snapshots are automatically removed; however, snapshots containing the files may be erased early.

 

2.Delete ZFS snapshots manually

You can delete snapshots in the TeraCLOUD File Browser's Dataset Editor.

When there isn't enough space left, snapshots will be immediately deleted. Please contact us if you have any difficulties or queries that are not addressed in the page. 


Updated November 20, 2020